Up next…Thai BBQ’d Chicken

Featuring three ingredients that I’ve never cooked with before, we got a little more complicated tonight with Thai BBQ Chicken.

1. Meet galangal
Say what? Sounds like a whole mouthful of ga. Galangal, ginger’s erstwhile, stronger and harder cousin. Holy Hannah, trying to grate this rhizome is like trying to grate a brick. It had me wishing for the ginger grater packed in my Vancouver storage container. It also packs a punch (eating it raw to find this out was less than a good idea); I used it sparingly not knowing how potent the cooked version would be.

2. Familiar face, unfamiliar roots
Bring on the coriander. Much of Thai cooking features coriander roots and stalks. The parts that we usually throw away/ don’t see. I’m not sure how the flavour profile changes but I chopped my roots and stalks into itty bitty bits as instructed.

3. La-di-da-di Lemon grass
I’ve eaten lots of lovely lemon grass dishes but never used it myself. Take several lemon grass sticks, give them a firm thumping to release the flavour, top and tail, peel outside woody layers and chop, chop, chop. Can’t emphasize the chopping enough. Roughly chopped lemon grass ala moi has the great smell but is woodenly unpleasant to chew. This is the part where I miss the blender/ Flavour Shaker that is also sitting in a Vancouver storage container.

20140206-202540.jpg

Top left, galangal with my coriander. Lemon grass loveliness.

Take all the wonderful ingredients, chop or pound them, mix with coconut milk and marinade that chicken. I put it in the fridge overnight. Then, as I do not own a BBQ, I baked the chicken in the oven for 45 mins. My oven doesn’t have a temperature gauge, it’s either on or off, but I guess it was somewhere in the 400F range…

20140206-202548.jpg

Chicken in the pan. Eaten too quickly for any pretty on the plate pics.

It was wonderful. A beautiful fragrant dish with coconut richness that got a HUGE thumbs up from the boys.  They can’t wait for me to make it again.

Aside from the initial chopping bits, which could be overcome with proper equipment, it was easy as pie

Thai BBQ’d Chicken
12 cm lemon grass stalk, finely sliced
5 cm piece of fresh galangal, peeled, finely chopped
4 garlic cloves, crushed
4 shallots, finely chopped
4 coriander roots and stalks, finely chopped
1.5kg of chicken
150 ml thick coconut milk
1.5 tbsp fish sauce
1 tsp black pepper
lime wedges to serve

Pound the lemon grass, galangal, garlic, shallots and coriander with a pestle or mortar or use a food processor to blend into a paste. Add the coconut milk, fish sauce and pepper and mix. Pour over the chicken and marinade at least 3 hours or overnight turning occasionally.

Remove chicken from marinade, place it on hot BBQ and cooks for 10 – 15 minutes for chicken pieces turning and basting regularly.

Leave the chicken to rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Serve with Sweet Chilli Sauce, lime wedges and white rice.

Leave a Reply

