The education of Vicky Browne

This week I learned, via my nanny’s mother, that pre-packaged coconut milk is a terrible thing. With all sorts of preservatives in it, it just doesn’t cut the mustard. I don’t know if it has preservatives et al but when a Khmer granny tells you it’s no good and there’s an abundance of fresh coconuts, you listen.

Adopting the when in Rome philosophy, the very next lesson was on the short & sweet process of getting fresh coconut milk.

You will need:

  • Muslin cloth
  • A wet market selling fresh grated coconut

Directions:

  • Wrap coconut in clean muslin cloth, twist and squeeze over a bowl. Ta-da fresh coconut milk with a strong, natural flavour.
  • After the first squeezing, get a new bowl and pour a little warm water over coconut and squeeze again. The second squeezing will be less pure than the first and is perfect for things like sweet coconut rice.
  • Reserve dry coconut for baking.

The interweb tells me you can store fresh coconut milk in the fridge for 3 – 4 days. We ate it immediately.

2 thoughts on “The education of Vicky Browne

  1. Of course you ate it immediately. I can’t imagine why you would wait! I left India, land of abundant coconuts, and now I’m living in London, with no coconuts for miles around. Will be buying canned coconut milk from the supermarket. Enjoy your fresh nutritious version!

    • My only regret is that I waited this long to try it. Who knew how wonderful it was! We will be returning to the land of no coconuts in the near future, so I’m enjoying every day. Thanks for reading my blog! Vicky

Leave a Reply

